What Are Chakras?

The literal meaning of the Sanskrit word Chakra translates to wheel or disk.

In a meditation and spiritual aspect, Chakras are swirling wheels of energy distributed throughout the body where matter meets consciousness.

There are seven main chakras that align along the spine from its base and up to the head.

The energy they carry and radiate, called Prana, keeps us alive, vibrant, healthy, and at peace.


Why are Chakras So Important?

Each Chakra corresponds to a swirling wheel of energy that is in direct connection with nerve centers that control major organs along with your psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of being.

It’s crucial that all your Chakras remain fluid, open, and aligned. If blocked, energy cannot flow and you lose your balance.

Keeping a Chakra open, although challenging, is not so difficult to achieve if you develop awareness of the interconnection between mind, body, and soul.


Why Does Each Chakra Has Its Own Designated Color?

Each of your seven Chakras has a corresponding color in the rainbow: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, and violet (or white).

Importantly, the colors – just like their Chakras – are fluid and constantly change  with your emotional, spiritual, and intellectual changes.

The connection between color and emotion is so undeniable that a branch of psychology, termed “color psychology“, specifically deals with the emotional impact of every color.

Hence, colors mirror your emotions. Think about it? What is your favorite color? What colors do you like on you? Do you avoid certain colors?


But, What is Color?

Thousands of years ago, Egyptians built light healing temples whereby different patients were bathed in specific colors of light to heal their different physical and psychological diseases.

Image result for egyptian healing temples of light

Recent experiments showed that the “skin sees in technicolor” whereby blindfolded individuals experienced physiological reactions when exposed to different colored rays.

Hence, color is a universal language.

In physical terms, a color is an electromagnetic wave that propagates through space.


The visible light spectrum that our eyes can detect is part of the electromagnetic spectrum with a wavelength ranging between 380 and 740 nanometers.

Image result for visible light spectrum

Importantly, as the wavelength of a given color increases, its frequency decreases.

Hence, in the visible spectrum, RED has the highest wavelength and lowest frequency. While VIOLET has the lowest wavelength but highest frequency.

This is crucial for a better understanding of the Chakras!

Each of your seven Chakras is vibrating at its own specific frequency and responding to different vibrations/wavelenghts of light!

Understanding the 7 Chakras

Chakras of Matter

The Chakras of matter are the first three Chakras starting from the base of the spine. They are more physical in nature.

1. Root Chakra:

The Muladhara is the Chakra of your basic needs, namely stability, security, financial independence, and food.

It is located within the first three vertebrae, the bladder, and the colon.

When the Root Chakra is open, you feel safe and fearless.

Image result for root chakra chakra-lover

2. Sacral Chakra:

The Svadhisthana is the Chakra of your creativity and sexuality.

It is located above the pubic bone, below the navel.

When the Sacral Chakra is open,  you are able to connect and accept others and new experiences.

Related image

3. Solar Plexus Chakra:

The Manipura, which means “lustrous gem”, is the Chakra  of confidence and personal power.

It is located in the area extending from the navel to the breastbone.

When the Solar Plexus Chakra is open, you become aware of your self-worth with an ability to accept criticism, and having no fear of rejection.

Image result for solar plexus chakra chakra-lover

The Chakra of Matter/Spirit Connection

4. Heart Chakra:

The Anahata is the Chakra that bridges your body, mind, emotions, and spirit. The heart chakra is your source of love and connection.

It is located at the center of the chest above the heart, in the middle of the seven Chakras, uniting the lower matter Chakras with the upper spirit Chakras.

When the Heart Chakra is open, you can openly feel love, joy and inner peace.

Image result for heart chakra affirmations

Chakras of Spirit

5. Throat Chakra:

The Vishuddha is the Chakra of verbal expression and the ability to speak the highest truth.

It is located in the throat area including neck, thyroid and parathyroid glands, mouth, and tongue.

When the Throat Chakra is open, you are able to clearly and truthfully communicate your feelings and thoughts.

Related image

6. Third Eye Chakra:

The Ajna is the Chakra of intuition.

It is located in between the eyebrows, namely in the pineal gland within the brain.

When the Third Eye Chakra is open, you gain intuition, imagination, and wisdom which immensely improves your ability to think and make decisions.

Image result for third eye chakra chakra-lover

7. Crown Chakra:

The Sahaswara, or the “thousand petal lotus”, is the Chakra of enlightenment and spiritual connection to your higher self, others, and to the divine.

It is located at the crown of the head.

When the Crown Chakra is open, you are able to be connected spiritually to everything and and everyone and to experience the world’s inner and outer beauty, and ultimately pure bliss.

Related image

Now that you have unveiled the importance of Chakras and their correlation to color, frequencies, yourself, and the divine, are you ready to further extend your knowledge?

Our coming posts will target each Chakra individually. How to boost them? What causes their blockage? What moves allow for their growth? How are they all interconnected? And so much more…

Stay tuned!

Ranim Daw, MS in Cell & Molecular Biology

American University of Beirut

February 27, 2017